Friends & Wine

I think one of the greatest assets I can take away from my 18 years of working in the fine wine industry is all the great places I have been given the opportunity to visit and the cool people I have met along the way.

In every business we run into people who are “passionate” about what they do. But just because you are passionate about something does not necessarily mean that it will manifest itself into a positive vibe when attempting to get your message out there.

Francesco and Filipo Mazzei

When I got my start with Italian wines in 1994 (Yes I know…17 years ago…I’m OLD), one of the first friendships I made was with Filipo and Francesco Mazzei of Castello Di Fonterutoli. Not only are they GENUINELY super nice people, but they have incredible heritage behind their brand. The winery is set in it’s own little hamlet in Chianti Classico that has had historical signifigance since the 1200s (that’s right…THE 1200s!!!!). The village used to act as a stopping point for travellers between Florence and Siena.

Chianti Classico Fonterutoli named a “Smart Buy"

Chianti Classico Fonterutoli named a “Smart Buy"

Now one might think that someone who has HUNDREDS of years of family heritage in a region and craft like winemaking might have a bit of an air about them… It couldn’t be any further from the truth. They are a very genuine family that share the passion and connection to the wine that all their ancestors before them had and understand the importance of carrying on the tradition in a way that is correct in todays wine world.

I had a big smile hit my face when the 10/31/11 issue of the Wine Spectator came out last week and the 2009 Chianti Classico Fonterutoli was named a “Smart Buy” …Couldn’t happen to nicer people…and good friends at that.

It prompted me to quickly get this offer out…
http://www.zachys.com/uploadedimages/CssEmails/f8_ChinatiClassico_Fonterutoli.html

So let’s hear it for my good friends Francesco & Filipo Mazzei and their new release Chianti Classico.

Such praise could not have happened to two nicer guys.

All my best,
Andrew

Leave a comment